From the mind of Chanthy Yen

Montreal can now dine on the new Time Out Market menu from chef Chanthy Yen

Time Out Market Montréal now features a coast-to-coast-to-coast menu from prime minister Justin Trudeau’s personal chef.

Today’s the day: Announced earlier this month, local and visitors to Montreal alike can now dine on a whole new menu at the market from chef Chanthy Yen.

Serving a pan-Canadian menu that pulls from his travels across the country and from personal memories of when his family acquainted themselves with food served in Canada through “scrappy and creative” reinventions, Yen is serving classics that diners will find both familiar and innovative.

Much like Time Out Market Montréal’s second latest arrival of Mezzmiz which brought a cosmopolitan Beirut style to Lebanese classics, Yen’s previously explained his food as dishes one might find at a casino: While there’s a classic steak-frites or shrimp cocktail, other ‘classics’ get spun in different directions like mussels and fries with a coconut white wine cream sauce, buttery whelks with a nori aioli, or flan with condensed milk and Vietnamese coffee caramel.

Chanthy Yen, Time Out Market Montréal
Photograph: JP Karwacki / Time Out

We’ve called Yen a rising star in Canada’s kitchens—some may think that’s a term reserved for young guns eager to prove themselves, but Yen helps to redefine it: After completing his culinary studies at the Northwest Culinary Academy in Vancouver, Yen worked with some of Canada’s best-known chefs, including Ned Bell from Yew Restaurant and Jefferson Alvarez of Secret Location (both in Vancouver).

After working in these Canadian kitchens, Yen expanded his repertoire by moving to San Sebastian in Spain to work at one of the world’s consistently top-rated restaurants, Mugaritz. He then spent a year learning about molecular gastronomy under the direction of Chef Andoni Luis Aduriz before conducting culinary research under the direction of chef Ferran Adria at his Bullipedia research center in Barcelona.

Since these experiences, Yen has operated restaurants and pop-up kitchens in Montreal before declaring his goals to cook for the king of Cambodia. He’s presently the executive chef at Tiramisu in Montreal’s Chinatown, the chef of Vancouver’s biggest vegan restaurant Nightshade, the personal chef to the prime minister, and now?

Now his food is up for grabs at Time Out Market Montréal.

If you got this far in the article, good job: Stay tuned for a special event coming up in late April where diners will be invited to a special prime ministerial dinner…

Chanthy Yen’s signature concept is now open and operating at Time Out Market Montréalsee the full menu here.

Chanthy Yen

Montréal peut maintenant déguster le nouveau menu Time Out Market du chef Chanthy Yen

Le Time Out Market Montréal propose désormais un menu pancanadien élaboré par le chef personnel du premier ministre Justin Trudeau.

C’est aujourd’hui que ça se passe : Annoncé au début du mois, les habitants de Montréal et les visiteurs peuvent désormais déguster au marché un tout nouveau menu du chef Chanthy Yen.

Il propose un menu pancanadien qui s’inspire de ses voyages à travers le pays et de ses souvenirs personnels de l’époque où sa famille s’est familiarisée avec la nourriture canadienne en la réinventant. Dans ce nouveau concept, Yen sert des classiques que les clients trouveront à la fois familiers et innovants.

À l’instar de l’avant-dernier arrivé au Time Out Market Montréal, Mezzmiz, qui a apporté un style Beyrouth cosmopolite aux classiques libanais, Yen’s a expliqué sa cuisine comme des plats que l’on pourrait trouver dans un casino : Il y a le classique steak-frites et le cocktail de crevettes, mais d’autres “classiques” vont dans des directions différentes comme les moules et les frites avec une sauce crémeuse au vin blanc et à la noix de coco, les bourgots au beurre avec un aïoli à la nori, ou le flan au lait concentré et au caramel au café vietnamien.

Chanthy Yen, Time Out Market Montréal
Photograph: JP Karwacki / Time Out

Nous avons qualifié Yen d’étoile montante dans les cuisines canadiennes – certains peuvent penser que ce terme est réservé aux jeunes qui veulent faire leurs preuves, mais Yen contribue à le redéfinir : Après avoir terminé ses études culinaires à la Northwest Culinary Academy de Vancouver, Yen a travaillé avec certains des chefs les plus connus du Canada, notamment Ned Bell du Yew Restaurant et Jefferson Alvarez de Secret Location (tous deux situés à Vancouver).

Après avoir travaillé dans ces cuisines canadiennes, Yen a élargi son répertoire en partant à Saint-Sébastien, en Espagne, pour travailler dans l’un des restaurants les mieux notés au monde, le Mugaritz. Il a ensuite passé une année à se familiariser avec la gastronomie moléculaire sous la direction du chef Andoni Luis Aduriz avant de mener des recherches culinaires sous la direction du chef Ferran Adria dans son centre de recherche Bullipedia à Barcelone.

Depuis ces expériences, Yen a ouvert des restaurants et des cuisines pop-up à Montréal avant de déclarer son objectif de cuisiner pour le roi du Cambodge. Depuis, il est devenu le chef exécutif du Tiramisu dans le quartier chinois de Montréal, le chef du plus grand restaurant végétalien de Vancouver, Nightshade, et le chef personnel du premier ministre. Et maintenant ?

Ses plats sont maintenant à saisir au Time Out Market Montréal.

Si vous êtes arrivés jusqu’ici dans l’article, bravo : Restez à l’écoute pour un événement spécial qui aura lieu à la fin du mois d’avril et au cours duquel les convives seront invités à un souper spécial du premier ministre…

Le concept de Chanthy Yen est maintenant ouvert et opérationnel au Time Out Market Montréal – voyez le menu complet ici.